FACULTY SENATE MINUTES SAM HOUSTON STATE UNIVERSITY November 30, 2006

Chair Philip Morris called the meeting to order at 3:30 pm.

Members present: Tracy Bilsing; Doug Constance; Yasser Djazaerly; Mark Frank; Renee James; Bill Edgington; Stacey Edmonson; Mary Gutermuth; Debbi Hatton; Joan Hudson; Ann Jerabek; Gerald Kohers; Paul Loeffler; Brian Loft; Bill Lutterschmidt; Philip Morris; John Newbold.

Members absent: Peggy DeMers; Jim DeShaw; Jerry Dowling; Rosanne Keathley; Debra Price; Tracy Steele; Jay Whatley; Yan Zhang.

Approval of minutes:

The minutes of the November 9, 2006 meeting were approved.

Chair Report:

Chair Philip Morris reported on items discussed at the most recent APC meeting.
Readmission of Students: Chair Morris noted that readmission of students who were on scholastic probationary status is good only for the next semester after the admission is granted; thus, students will not be allowed to wait or "defer" their admission to a later semester.

• Requirements for students to walk at graduation: Chair Morris reported that the exceptions granted for students to walk at graduation ceremonies prior to completing their required credits will be extremely limited in the future.

•

3. In order to maintain the academic integrity of the University, academic departments are the best qualified to make curricular decisions regarding their programs.

• The Senate discussed ideas for a focus for the University's QEP (Quality Enhancement Plan) for SACS. Possibilities discussed included a university tutoring center and a film center. After discussion, the Senate adopted the following resolution to present to the President regarding the QEP project: