FACULTY SENATE MINUTES SAM HOUSTON STATE UNIVERSITY

September 9, 2010

Members Present:

Tracy Bilsing (CHSS), Len Breen (CoE), Donald Bumpass (CoBA), Rebecca Bustamente (CoE), Erin Cassidy (NGL), Donna Desforges (CHSS), Mark Frank (CoBA), Chad Hargrave (CoAS), Debbi Hatton (CHSS), Renee James (CoAS), Bill Jasper (CoAS), Hee-Jong Joo (CoCJ), Gerald Kohers (CoBA), Paul Loeffler (CoAS) Drew Lopenzina (CHSS), Joyce Mc Cauley (CoE), Sheryl Murphy-Manley (CoAS), Dwayne Pavelock (CoAS), Ling Ren (CoCJ), Sheryl Serres (CoE), Doug Ullrich (CoAS), Ricky White (CoAS).

ACADEMIC AFFAIRS

- Bill Jasper CoAS Math
- Doug Üllrich CoAS Agriculture
- Tracey Steele CHSS-History
- Renee James CoAS Physics
- Drew Lopenzina CHSS English
- Hee-Jong Joo CoCJ

COMM ON COMM

- Gerald Kohers CoBA Mangement Information Systems
- Paul Loeffler –CoAS Chemistry
- Sheryl Murphy-Manley CoAS Music
- Rebec55MCID 32 >> B4ohers 3

T

0

Changes to the Banner portal were discussed. Chair Frank distributed screen shots of the portal page (appendix A) to the Senate. The Banner committee is seeking feedback from the faculty on the new portal. The full portal can be viewed at www.shsu.edu/erp/ Members of the senate felt that the page needed fast links. Additional recommendations should be sent to Chair Frank.

While the Senate is not represented on the Council of Academic Deans (CAD), Chair Frank discussed topics covered during the summer sessions. Topics covered included the development of a standard cell phone and texting policy; the early retirement policy; changes to the ORP policy and evolution of teaching.

Committee Reports:

Due to summer resignations, the Committee on Committees sent nominees for the Grievance and Student Service Fees committees forward. The names were unanimously accepted.

The newly formed committees were asked to meet briefly to select a chair and vice-chair. ACADEMIC AFFAIRS

- Bill Jasper Chair CoAS Math
- Doug Ullrich Vice-Chair CoAS Agriculture

COMM ON COMM

- Gerald Kohers Chair CoBA Management Information Systems
- Paul Loeffler Vice-Chair CoAS Chemistry

FACULTY AFFAIRS

- Donna Deforge Chair- CHSS Physics
- Chad Hargrave Vice-Chair CoAS Biology

UNIVERSITY AFFAIRS

- Don Bumpass Chair CoBA- Economics & International Business
- Erin Cassidy Vice-chair NGL

Committee chairs along with Chair Frank and Chair-